Mary Landrieu loses to Bill Cassidy

Mary Landrieu loses to Bill Cassidy

Mary Landrieu loses
Mary Landrieu loses Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-La., and Rep. Bill Cassidy, R-La., wait for the start of their final debate for the Senate election runoff in Baton Rouge, La., Monday, Dec. 1, 2014. (AP Photo/Gerald Herbert)

Mary Landrieu loses to Bill Cassidy

Republicans now hold 54 Senate seats against 46 Democrat seats.

The GOP holds 246 Congressional seats, compared to 188 for Democrats, with one race, in Arizona’s 2nd District, still outstanding. The 246 seats match the total the GOP had in 1947-49 when Harry S. Truman occupied the White House.

Mary Loretta Landrieu (/ˈlændr/ LAN-drew;[1] born November 23, 1955) is an American politician and former U.S. Senator from the state of Louisiana. She is a member of the Democratic Party.

Born in Arlington, Virginia, Landrieu was raised in New Orleans, Louisiana. She is the daughter of Moon Landrieu, former New Orleans mayor and Secretary of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, and the sister of Mitch Landrieu, the current Mayor of New Orleans and former Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana. She received her baccalaureate degree from Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge. After working as a real estate agent for several years, she was elected as a state representative (1980–1988) and state treasurer (1988–1996). She won a close race for the U.S. Senate in 1996; she was re-elected by increasing margins in competitive races in 2002 and 2008, but lost in 2014.

Landrieu came to national attention in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in 2005 after she publicly criticized the federal response to the natural disaster. Her opposition to the public option played a major role in the crafting of the 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, as she did not agree to support it until additional concessions were granted to support Louisiana’s Medicaid system. In 2011, she became a cardinal (chair) of the Senate’s Homeland Security Appropriations Subcommittee. She chaired the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship from 2009 to 2014, and chaired the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources from 2014 to 2015.

Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.